Founded as Central University in 1874, the school evolved into Eastern Kentucky University in the 1920s, adding a number of degree programs in addition to its roots as a teacher’s college. Today, the school, located in Richmond, Kentucky with regional schools in Corbin, Danville, Manchester and Lancaster, Kentucky, offers both undergraduate and graduate programs.

As a public university, the school has both state and private funding for its over 15,000 students and competes in the Ohio Valley Athletic Conference. The University has five colleges, in addition to a Graduate School, offering over 150 degrees. The Colleges of Art and Science, Business and Technology, Health Sciences, Education and Justice and Safety all offer a variety of degrees ranging from bachelor’s to doctorates. Recognized as a top Southern school by US News, the school is best known for its highly ranked Occupational Therapy graduate programs.

Eastern Kentucky University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Featured Programs